Ensemble Sospeso

Ensemble Sospeso

The Ensemble Sospeso is an ensemble of soloists producing concerts of contemporary music at the highest standard, giving performances described as “stunning” (New York Times), “a wonder to watch” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeously rich” (Village Voice). Formed in 1995 by composers Kirk Noreen and Joshua Cody, Sospeso has been based in New York since 1999.

Awarded the prestigious F√∂rderpreis from the Ernst von Siemens Foundation’s Musikstiftung for two consecutive years, and a 2002 recipient of the DNA grant from Arts International, Sospeso performs a diverse repertoire of works of our time.

Comprised of a core group of 21 soloists, Sospeso recruits its members competitively and shares its musicians with such groups as the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. Musicians are considered individually as soloists, enabling each to tackle unusual repertoire in non-standard ensembles, or take part in experimental projects.

Elliott Carter: Quintets and Voices  (mode 128)
Lydia Kavina - Spellbound! (mode 199)

Ensemble Sospeso Web Site